A change when adding a public vs private recipe

We’ve made a change in our add-recipe functionality: public recipes, once posted publicly, cannot be changed back to private.

Choose Public or Private at Recipe Posting Time

When you add a recipe to BigOven, you have an option to make it public or private. Once you choose to make it public, you cannot then make that recipe private. You can however still delete a recipe, and you can make a private copy of a recipe, but you cannot make that recipe private which you originally posted publicly. If you want to keep a recipe private, you must now choose “Private” at the time you create the recipe on BigOven. Recipes that are private can later be made public, but not the other way around.
You can add recipes in many different ways:
  • Type in the recipe into the web form (choose private or public at recipe creation time)
  • Copy and Paste from text (choose private or public at recipe creation time)
  • Clip a recipe from the web (these are public, with instructions leading off to the site in question)
  • Let BigOven type it in for you, via RecipeScan (these are made private by default)
  • Add the recipe via the free apps, by visiting My Recipes > Add Recipe (+)
Once a recipe is chosen to be public, that recipe’s public/private status cannot be changed.

Why the change?

BigOven is a community of cooks sharing our best recipes, plus powerful recipe organization software for personal collections. When recipes are shared publicly, any BigOven cook coming across that recipe might favorite them, add them to a grocery list or meal plan, or add them to a folder. If the author of that recipe then makes the recipe private, it can cause a “disappearance” of the recipe to those users who have marked it for later. Also, going forward, if you have a private recipe and, say, share it with someone via the special, coded URL, your friend will still have access to that recipe if they, say, add it to a folder or favorite it.
We want you to be able to enjoy the many delicious public recipes available to you, without ever worrying about that recipe becoming inaccessible.
So next time you add a recipe, please remember to ask yourself: Do you want to share it with the BigOven community or do you want to keep it to yourself? Take your pick. Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply